AQ_arrow-left  back to industry overview

LIGHTING

Even if people often only perceive it subconsciously, lighting is omnipresent in our daily lives and the essential solutions are as diverse as the companies active in the sector. Due to the fundamental change from conventional lighting to efficient LEDs, the industry has undergone a paradigm shift over the last decade which continues to have an impact today. There are almost unlimited fields of lighting applications: from designer luminaires for interiors, decorative architectural and store lighting, high-performance lighting for streets, public spaces and facilities to robust industrial products and finally for special applications such as medical technology, signal systems, tunnels and automobiles.

Selected Sub-sectors:
> Consumer
> Professional Outdoor/Indoor (Industrial, shop, architectural etc.)
> Special Purpose (Medicine, signage, niche, automotive)
> Components (Lamps, engines etc.)

Light is increasingly recognized as having an impact on people's sense of well-being and security. This is made clear by trends, such as the so-called “Human Centric Lighting”. At the same time, the still highly fragmented industry, with many niche providers, has to face the challenges of global competition and increasing customer requirements.

In the meantime, Aquin has become the leading M&A advisory firm in the European lighting industry through a large number of accompanied lighting transactions (13 to date) and has more M&A experience than any other competitor throughout Europe. The intensive cooperation with our Senior Advisor Dr. Kurt Gerl, a former member of Osram’s Management Board, confirms Aquin’s lighting expertise and creates added value for every project. Through our extensive network, we are personally acquainted with almost all decision makers in the industry, and therefore represent our clients optimally throughout the M&A process.

SENIOR ADVISOR

Dr. Kurt Gerl - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Kurt Gerl
Lighting and Electrical Wholesale
AQUIN Link  Vita
Dr. Kurt Gerl - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Kurt Gerl
Lighting and Electrical Wholesale
AQUIN Link  Vita

SELECTED REFERENCES

Key Terms

>   The Austrian Swareflex GmbH, a company and brand of the Swarovski Group, is divesting its tunnel lighting business. Aquin acted as exclusive M&A advisor to the sellers.
>   With effect from April 30, 2019, the special lighting manufacturer NORKA took over all assets of the „Traffic & Industries“ division of Swareflex.

Strategic Logic

>   With the sale of its »Traffic & Industries« division, Swareflex will focus on its core business – the development and marketing of solutions with glass reflectors for traffic safety and industrial applications for light control with glass lenses.
>   The transaction further expands NORKA‘s business activities. The addition of the tunnel lighting division will be an excellent extension to the existing product portfolio and will strengthen NORKA‘s market position as a specialist for professional lighting technology.
Logo_SWAREFLEX_Foto

Swareflex

>   Swareflex GmbH has been offering solutions for traffic safety systems and functional lighting worldwide for more than 60 years. In addition to retro-reflectors with glass elements and glass lenses, Swareflex has also produced LED-based lighting systems for roads, tunnels and industrial applications.
>   Swareflex is a company and brand of the Swarovski Group and employs approximately 50 people at its headquarters in Vomp (Austria).

NORKA

>   The company NORKA – Norddeutsche Kunststoff- und Elektrogesellschaft Stäcker mbH & Co. KG – has been known for more than 70 years as a solution provider for technical lighting under extreme environmental conditions and enjoys high brand recognition as the market leader in this field.
>   NORKA employs around 200 people at two locations in Germany with its administration based in Hamburg and its production plant based in Dörverden-Hülsen.

Key Terms

>   With effect from August 1, 2017, Energetic Lighting Europe/ Yankon (China), one of the world’s leading manufacturers of lamps and luminaires, acquired Nordlux Group A/S, a leading Danish company for design oriented indoor and outdoor lighting products.
>   Aquin acted as the exclusive M&A advisor to Energetic Lighting/ Yankon.

Strategic Logic

>   The takeover is an important step for Yankon to realize the group`s future strategy. The plan is to strengthen its market positioning in the European consumer luminaires industry and substantially increase European business, with Nordlux as the engine.
>   »We are convinced that there is much untapped potential in the brand, products and design of Nordlux«, says Zhangming Yang, General Manager of Energetic Lighting in Europe.
>   With the sale, Nordlux gains access to Yankon`s large international customer base, top-notch LED-technology and production capacity.
Logo_ENERGETIC_Foto

Energetic Lighting Europe / Yankon

>   Zhejiang Yankon Group Co., Ltd. is a Chinese lighting specialist established in 1975 and is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of LED bulbs and luminaires. The company is listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange and sells its products globally under the brand »Energetic«. Energetic Lighting Europe NV, a 100% European subsidiary of Yankon, is headquartered in Antwerp (Belgium).
>   Yankon achieved an annual turnover of 600 million euros with 290 million euros cash at hand.
>   The company is a subcontractor to some of the world’s largest OEMs but also uses its own sales outlets as a preferred supplier to many European supermarket and DIY store chains.

Nordlux

>   Nordlux is a well-established and renowned Danish lighting design brand for indoor and outdoor luminaires. Under the brand names »Desingfor the people«, »Nordlux«, »Lampekonsulenten« and »See Mee«, the company designs and develops its high-quality products in-house, while external partners handle production. It has sales companies in Norway, Sweden, Germany and China and is represented in more than 35 countries today.
>   Nordlux, founded in 1977, is headquartered in Aalborg (Denmark). It is one of the biggest and most profitable lighting companies in Denmark.

Key Terms

>   With effect from November 3, 2016, Osram acquired a minority stake of 47.5 percent in Tvilight B.V., a Dutch IoT software company specialized in sensor technology and light management software for smart city solutions.
>   The M&A process was led by Aquin on behalf of Tvilight and its shareholders, Chintan Shah, the founder of Tvilight, and Ponooc B.V., a Dutch clean-tech investment fund.

Strategic Logic

>   By taking a share in Tvilight, Osram responds to the growing demand for connected, energy-efficient and intelligent street lighting in cities.
>   The partnership will allow Osram to tap into the knowledge and experience that Tvilight has acquired in connected street lighting networks.
Logo_TVILIGHT_ PONOOC_Foto

Tvilight

>   Tvilight, established in 2012, is a European IoT technology leader specializing in sensors, wireless controls and connected light management software for the outdoor environment. Its professional end-to-end street lighting control solutions provide a backbone for future smart city applications.
>   With a team of 35+ people, working from offices in the Netherlands and India, it has an installed base of over 100 projects globally and has deployed thousands of intelligent devices in iconic cities and critical infrastructure.

Ponooc

>   Ponooc is an investment fund of Pon Holdings, a Dutch family-owned conglomerate in the transportation sector, generating multibillion revenues and employing 13,000 people. The investment focus of Ponooc is on sustainable energy and mobility.

Osram

>   Osram is one of the world`s leading lighting manufacturers. Its portfolio ranges from high-tech applications based on semiconductor technologies, such as infrared and laser applications, to intelligent networked lighting solutions in buildings and cities.
>   As of the end of the fiscal year 2015, Osram employed around 33,000 people worldwide and achieved sales of almost 5.6 billion euros.

Key Terms

>   The Austrian Swareflex GmbH, a company and brand of the Swarovski Group, is divesting its tunnel lighting business. Aquin acted as exclusive M&A advisor to the sellers.
>   With effect from April 30, 2019, the special lighting manufacturer NORKA took over all assets of the „Traffic & Industries“ division of Swareflex.

Strategic Logic

>   With the sale of its »Traffic & Industries« division, Swareflex will focus on its core business – the development and marketing of solutions with glass reflectors for traffic safety and industrial applications for light control with glass lenses.
>   The transaction further expands NORKA‘s business activities. The addition of the tunnel lighting division will be an excellent extension to the existing product portfolio and will strengthen NORKA‘s market position as a specialist for professional lighting technology.
Logo_SWAREFLEX_Foto

Swareflex

>   Swareflex GmbH has been offering solutions for traffic safety systems and functional lighting worldwide for more than 60 years. In addition to retro-reflectors with glass elements and glass lenses, Swareflex has also produced LED-based lighting systems for roads, tunnels and industrial applications.
>   Swareflex is a company and brand of the Swarovski Group and employs approximately 50 people at its headquarters in Vomp (Austria).

NORKA

>   The company NORKA – Norddeutsche Kunststoff- und Elektrogesellschaft Stäcker mbH & Co. KG – has been known for more than 70 years as a solution provider for technical lighting under extreme environmental conditions and enjoys high brand recognition as the market leader in this field.
>   NORKA employs around 200 people at two locations in Germany with its administration based in Hamburg and its production plant based in Dörverden-Hülsen.

Key Terms

>   With effect from August 1, 2017, Energetic Lighting Europe/ Yankon (China), one of the world’s leading manufacturers of lamps and luminaires, acquired Nordlux Group A/S, a leading Danish company for design oriented indoor and outdoor lighting products.
>   Aquin acted as the exclusive M&A advisor to Energetic Lighting/ Yankon.

Strategic Logic

>   The takeover is an important step for Yankon to realize the group`s future strategy. The plan is to strengthen its market positioning in the European consumer luminaires industry and substantially increase European business, with Nordlux as the engine.
>   »We are convinced that there is much untapped potential in the brand, products and design of Nordlux«, says Zhangming Yang, General Manager of Energetic Lighting in Europe.
>   With the sale, Nordlux gains access to Yankon`s large international customer base, top-notch LED-technology and production capacity.
Logo_ENERGETIC_Foto

Energetic Lighting Europe / Yankon

>   Zhejiang Yankon Group Co., Ltd. is a Chinese lighting specialist established in 1975 and is one of the world’s largest manufacturers of LED bulbs and luminaires. The company is listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange and sells its products globally under the brand »Energetic«. Energetic Lighting Europe NV, a 100% European subsidiary of Yankon, is headquartered in Antwerp (Belgium).
>   Yankon achieved an annual turnover of 600 million euros with 290 million euros cash at hand.
>   The company is a subcontractor to some of the world’s largest OEMs but also uses its own sales outlets as a preferred supplier to many European supermarket and DIY store chains.

Nordlux

>   Nordlux is a well-established and renowned Danish lighting design brand for indoor and outdoor luminaires. Under the brand names »Desingfor the people«, »Nordlux«, »Lampekonsulenten« and »See Mee«, the company designs and develops its high-quality products in-house, while external partners handle production. It has sales companies in Norway, Sweden, Germany and China and is represented in more than 35 countries today.
>   Nordlux, founded in 1977, is headquartered in Aalborg (Denmark). It is one of the biggest and most profitable lighting companies in Denmark.

Key Terms

>   With effect from November 3, 2016, Osram acquired a minority stake of 47.5 percent in Tvilight B.V., a Dutch IoT software company specialized in sensor technology and light management software for smart city solutions.
>   The M&A process was led by Aquin on behalf of Tvilight and its shareholders, Chintan Shah, the founder of Tvilight, and Ponooc B.V., a Dutch clean-tech investment fund.

Strategic Logic

>   By taking a share in Tvilight, Osram responds to the growing demand for connected, energy-efficient and intelligent street lighting in cities.
>   The partnership will allow Osram to tap into the knowledge and experience that Tvilight has acquired in connected street lighting networks.
Logo_TVILIGHT_ PONOOC_Foto

Tvilight

>   Tvilight, established in 2012, is a European IoT technology leader specializing in sensors, wireless controls and connected light management software for the outdoor environment. Its professional end-to-end street lighting control solutions provide a backbone for future smart city applications.
>   With a team of 35+ people, working from offices in the Netherlands and India, it has an installed base of over 100 projects globally and has deployed thousands of intelligent devices in iconic cities and critical infrastructure.

Ponooc

>   Ponooc is an investment fund of Pon Holdings, a Dutch family-owned conglomerate in the transportation sector, generating multibillion revenues and employing 13,000 people. The investment focus of Ponooc is on sustainable energy and mobility.

Osram

>   Osram is one of the world`s leading lighting manufacturers. Its portfolio ranges from high-tech applications based on semiconductor technologies, such as infrared and laser applications, to intelligent networked lighting solutions in buildings and cities.
>   As of the end of the fiscal year 2015, Osram employed around 33,000 people worldwide and achieved sales of almost 5.6 billion euros.

 


PUBLICATIONS


Does Corona block the light?
07.2020 - Martin Kanatschnig, Dr. Kurt Gerl in: HIGHLIGHT 7-8 2020
AQUIN Link to publication


Harsh winds on the lighting market
10.2019 - Martin Kanatschnig, Dr. Kurt Gerl in: ElektroWirtschaft - Light-Special 10/2019
AQUIN Link  to publication


Lighting in jeopardy?
03.2019 - Dr. Kurt Gerl, Martin Kanatschnig in: HIGHLIGHT 3-4 2019
AQUIN Link  to publication


CONTACT

Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Felix Kampen - Aquin
Felix Kampen
Principal
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Philipp Neumann - Aquin
Philipp Neumann
Associate
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Felix Kampen - Aquin
Felix Kampen
Principal
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Philipp Neumann - Aquin
Philipp Neumann
Associate
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita

AQ_arrow-left  zurück zur Branchenübersicht

BELEUCHTUNG

Auch wenn die Menschen es oft nur unbewusst wahrnehmen, so ist Beleuchtung im Alltag allgegenwärtig und die notwendigen Lösungen sind so vielfältig wie die in der Branche aktiven Unternehmen. Durch die grundlegende Transformation von konventioneller Beleuchtung zu effizienter LED hat die Branche im letzten Jahrzehnt einen Paradigmenwechsel erfahren, der bis heute nachwirkt. Es ergeben sich nahezu unbegrenzte Anwendungsfelder: von Designerleuchten im Innenbereich über dekorative Architektur- und Shopbeleuchtung, leistungsstarker Beleuchtung von Straßen, öffentlicher Plätze und Einrichtungen bis zu robusten Produkten für die Industrie und schließlich für Spezialanwendungen wie beispielsweise in der Medizintechnik, bei Signalanlagen, Tunneln sowie im Automobil.

Licht wird für das Wohl- und Sicherheitsbefinden der Menschen ein immer stärkerer Einfluss zuerkannt. Dies wird u.a. durch Trends wie das so genannte „Human Centric Lighting“ deutlich. Gleichzeitig muss sich die noch immer recht stark fragmentierte Branche mit vielen kleinen Nischenanbietern den Herausforderungen des globalen Wettbewerbs und steigender Kundenanforderungen stellen.

Inzwischen hat sich Aquin über eine Vielzahl begleiteter Licht-Transaktionen (bisher 13) zum führenden M&A-Beratungshaus in der europäischen Beleuchtungsindustrie entwickelt und verfügt in diesem Bereich über M&A-Expertise wie kein anderer Wettbewerber im europäischen Raum. Die intensive Zusammenarbeit mit unserem Senior Advisor Dr. Kurt Gerl als ehemaliges Mitglied der Geschäftsführung von OSRAM bestätigt Aquins Licht-Expertise und schafft strategischen Mehrwert bei jedem Projekt. Durch unser Netzwerk sind wir sind mit fast allen Entscheidern der Branche persönlich bekannt und können unseren Mandanten dadurch optimal beim M&A-Prozess vertreten.

SENIOR ADVISOR

Dr. Kurt Gerl - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Kurt Gerl
Beleuchtung und Elektrogrosshandel
AQUIN Link  Vita
Dr. Kurt Gerl - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Kurt Gerl
Beleuchtung und Elektrogrosshandel
AQUIN Link  Vita

AUSGEWÄHLTE TRANSAKTIONEN

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Die österreichische Swareflex GmbH, ein Unternehmen der Swarovski Gruppe, trennt sich von dem Geschäftsbereich für Tunnelbeleuchtungen. Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater für die Verkäufer.
>   Mit Wirkung zum 30. April 2019 übernimmt der Spezialleuchtenhersteller NORKA alle Assets der Sparte »Traffic & Industries« von Swareflex.

Investitionslogik

>   Mit dem Verkauf des Geschäftsbereichs »Traffic & Industries« wird sich Swareflex zukünftig auf das Kerngeschäft – die Entwicklung und Vermarktung von Lösungen mit Glasreflektoren für die Verkehrssicherheit und industrielle Anwendungen zur Lichtlenkung mit Glaslinsen – konzentrieren.
>   Durch die Transaktion baut NORKA seine Geschäftsaktivitäten weiter aus. Die Erweiterung um die Sparte Tunnelbeleuchtung führt zu einer hervorragenden Ergänzung des bereits bestehenden Produktportfolios und wird die Marktposition der NORKA als lichttechnische Spezialfabrik weiter stärken.
Swareflex / Norka

Swareflex

>   Die Swareflex GmbH bietet seit mehr als 60 Jahren weltweit Lösungen für Verkehrssicherheitssysteme und funktionale Beleuchtungen an. Neben Glasreflektoren und Glaslinsen wurden bisher auch LED-Beleuchtungslösungen für Straßen und Tunnel sowie für industrielle Anwendungen hergestellt.
>   Swareflex ist ein Unternehmen und eine Marke der Swarovski Gruppe und beschäftigt am Hauptsitz in Vomp (Österreich) ca. 50 Mitarbeiter.

NORKA

>   Das Unternehmen NORKA – Norddeutsche Kunststoff- und Elektrogesellschaft Stäcker mbH & Co. KG – ist seit über 70 Jahren bekannt als Lösungsanbieter für Technische Beleuchtung unter extremen Umgebungsbedingungen und genießt als Marktführer in diesem Bereich hohe Markenbekanntheit.
>   NORKA beschäftigt ca. 200 Angestellte an zwei Standorten, in der Verwaltung in Hamburg und in der Produktionsstätte in Dörverden-Hülsen.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 01. August, 2017, übernimmt Energetic Lighting Europe / Yankon (China), einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Lampen und Leuchten, die Nordlux Gruppe A/S, ein führendes dänisches Unternehmen für designorientierte Innen- und Außenbeleuchtungsprodukte
>   Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater von Energetic Lighting / Yankon.

Investitionslogik

>   Die Übernahme stellt einen wichtigen Schritt für Yankon im Zuge der Umsetzung künftiger Strategien der Gruppe dar. Mit Nordlux als Motor, soll die eigene Marktposition in der europäischen Verbraucherbeleuchtungsindustrie gestärkt und das Europageschäft erheblich gesteigert werden.
>   »Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass viel ungenutztes Potential in der Marke, in den Produkten und im Design von Nordlux steckt.« sagt Zhangming Yang, Geschäftsführer von Energetic Lighting in Europa.
>   Durch den Kauf erhält Nordlux Zugang zu Yankons großem, internationalen Kundenstamm, der erstklassigen LED Technologie sowie Produktionskapazität um die eigene Wachstumsstrategie weiter zu verfolgen.
Yankon energetic / nordlux group

Energetic Lighting Europe / Yankon

>   Zhejiang Yankon Group Co., Ltd. ist ein chinesischer Lichtspezialist, der 1975 gegründet wurde und heute zu den weltweit größten Herstellern von LED Lampen zählt. Das Unternehmen ist in Shanghai börsennotiert und vertreibt unter dem Namen »Energetic« Produkte auf der ganzen Welt. Energetic Lighting Europe NV, ist zu 100 Prozent eine europäische Tochtergesellschaft von Yankon, dessen Hauptsitz sich in Antwerpen (Belgien) befindet.
>   Yankon erwirtschaftete einen Jahresumsatz von 600 Millionen Euro mit einem Kassenbestand von 290 Millionen Euro.
>   Obwohl das Unternehmen Zulieferer für einige der größten OEMs weltweit ist, nutzt es die eigenen Verkaufsstellen als bevorzugten Lieferanten für viele europäische Supermärkte und Heimwerkermarktketten.

Nordlux

>   Nordlux ist eine etablierte und anerkannte Marke im Lichtdesign für Innen- und Außenleuchten. Unter den Markennamen »Design for the people«, »Nordlux«, »Lampekonsulenten« und »See Mee« entwirft und entwickelt das Unternehmen betriebsintern hochqualitative Produkte. Externe Partner übernehmen die Produktion. Nordlux hat Vertriebsgesellschaften in Norwegen, Schweden, Deutschland und China und ist heute in über 35 Ländern vertreten.
>   Nordlux, gegründet 1977, mit Hauptsitz in Aalborg (Dänemark) zählt zu den größten und profitabelsten Beleuchtungsunternehmen in Dänemark.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 3. November 2016 übernimmt OSRAM eine Minderheitsbeteiligung von 47,5 Prozent am niederländischen IoT-Software-Unternehmen TVILIGHT B.V.
>   Aquin wurde von Tvilight sowie dessen Anteilseignern, dem Gründer Chintan Shah und dem niederländischen Clean-Tech-Investmentfonds Ponooc B.V., mit der Leitung des M&A-Prozesses beauftragt.

Investitionslogik

>   Mit der Beteiligung an Tvilight trägt Osram der steigenden Nachfrage nach IoT-fähigen, energieeffizienten und intelligent vernetzten Lichtlösungen Rechnung.
>   Chintan Shah: »Wir vereinen über 100 Jahre Erfahrung und herausragende Erfolge in der Lichttechnik mit innovativer Software. Die Partnerschaft ermöglicht es Tvilight weiterhin, den steigenden Bedarf nach großflächigen Smart City-Projekten auf Basis unserer offenen, vielseitigen, multiservice-Softwareplattform zu bedienen. Wir freuen uns auf diese gemeinsame Reise mit großem Engagement
und Ehrgeiz.«
TVilight / Osram

Tvilight

>   Das 2012 gegründete Unternehmen ist ein europäischer Marktführer in der professionellen End-to-End-Steuerung von Straßenbeleuchtung, spezialisiert auf Sensoren, drahtlose Lichtsteuerungen und vernetzte Lichtmanagement-software für Außenanwendungen.
>   Tvilight hat über 100 Projekte realisiert und tausende von intelligenten Devices in Städten weltweit installiert.
>   Das rasant wachsende Team von bis dato 35 Mitarbeitern arbeitet an vier Standorten in den Niederlanden und Indien.

Ponooc

>   Ponooc ist ein Investmentfonds der Pon Holdings. Als ein im Familienbesitz befindlicher, niederländischer Mischkonzern im Transportsektor erwirtschaftet Pon Umsätze in Milliardenhöhe und beschäftigt rund 13.000 Mitarbeiter.

Osram

>   Osram ist einer der weltweit führenden Lichthersteller. Das Portfolio reicht von High-Tech-Anwendungen auf der Basis halbleiterbasierter Technologie, wie Infrarot und Laser, bis hin zu vernetzten intelligenten Beleuchtungs-möglichkeiten in Städten.
>   Ende des Geschäftsjahres 2015 beschäftigte Osram weltweit rund 33.000 Mitarbeiter und erzielte einen Umsatz von knapp 5,6 Milliarden Euro.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Die österreichische Swareflex GmbH, ein Unternehmen der Swarovski Gruppe, trennt sich von dem Geschäftsbereich für Tunnelbeleuchtungen. Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater für die Verkäufer.
>   Mit Wirkung zum 30. April 2019 übernimmt der Spezialleuchtenhersteller NORKA alle Assets der Sparte »Traffic & Industries« von Swareflex.

Investitionslogik

>   Mit dem Verkauf des Geschäftsbereichs »Traffic & Industries« wird sich Swareflex zukünftig auf das Kerngeschäft – die Entwicklung und Vermarktung von Lösungen mit Glasreflektoren für die Verkehrssicherheit und industrielle Anwendungen zur Lichtlenkung mit Glaslinsen – konzentrieren.
>   Durch die Transaktion baut NORKA seine Geschäftsaktivitäten weiter aus. Die Erweiterung um die Sparte Tunnelbeleuchtung führt zu einer hervorragenden Ergänzung des bereits bestehenden Produktportfolios und wird die Marktposition der NORKA als lichttechnische Spezialfabrik weiter stärken.
Swareflex / NORKA

Swareflex

>   Die Swareflex GmbH bietet seit mehr als 60 Jahren weltweit Lösungen für Verkehrssicherheitssysteme und funktionale Beleuchtungen an. Neben Glasreflektoren und Glaslinsen wurden bisher auch LED-Beleuchtungslösungen für Straßen und Tunnel sowie für industrielle Anwendungen hergestellt.
>   Swareflex ist ein Unternehmen und eine Marke der Swarovski Gruppe und beschäftigt am Hauptsitz in Vomp (Österreich) ca. 50 Mitarbeiter.

NORKA

>   Das Unternehmen NORKA – Norddeutsche Kunststoff- und Elektrogesellschaft Stäcker mbH & Co. KG – ist seit über 70 Jahren bekannt als Lösungsanbieter für Technische Beleuchtung unter extremen Umgebungsbedingungen und genießt als Marktführer in diesem Bereich hohe Markenbekanntheit.
>   NORKA beschäftigt ca. 200 Angestellte an zwei Standorten, in der Verwaltung in Hamburg und in der Produktionsstätte in Dörverden-Hülsen.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 01. August, 2017, übernimmt Energetic Lighting Europe / Yankon (China), einer der weltweit führenden Hersteller von Lampen und Leuchten, die Nordlux Gruppe A/S, ein führendes dänisches Unternehmen für designorientierte Innen- und Außenbeleuchtungsprodukte.
>   Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater von Energetic Lighting / Yankon.

Investitionslogik

>   Die Übernahme stellt einen wichtigen Schritt für Yankon im Zuge der Umsetzung künftiger Strategien der Gruppe dar. Mit Nordlux als Motor, soll die eigene Marktposition in der europäischen Verbraucherbeleuchtungsindustrie gestärkt und das Europageschäft erheblich gesteigert werden.
>   »Wir sind überzeugt davon, dass viel ungenutztes Potential in der Marke, in den Produkten und im Design von Nordlux steckt.« sagt Zhangming Yang, Geschäftsführer von Energetic Lighting in Europa.
>   Durch den Kauf erhält Nordlux Zugang zu Yankons großem, internationalen Kundenstamm, der erstklassigen LED Technologie sowie Produktionskapazität um die eigene Wachstumsstrategie weiter zu verfolgen.
Yankon energetic / Nordlux

Energetic Lighting Europe / Yankon

>   Zhejiang Yankon Group Co., Ltd. ist ein chinesischer Lichtspezialist, der 1975 gegründet wurde und heute zu den weltweit größten Herstellern von LED Lampen zählt. Das Unternehmen ist in Shanghai börsennotiert und vertreibt unter dem Namen »Energetic« Produkte auf der ganzen Welt. Energetic Lighting Europe NV, ist zu 100 Prozent eine europäische Tochtergesellschaft von Yankon, dessen Hauptsitz sich in Antwerpen (Belgien) befindet.
>   Yankon erwirtschaftete einen Jahresumsatz von 600 Millionen Euro mit einem Kassenbestand von 290 Millionen Euro.
>   Obwohl das Unternehmen Zulieferer für einige der größten OEMs weltweit ist, nutzt es die eigenen Verkaufsstellen als bevorzugten Lieferanten für viele europäische Supermärkte und Heimwerkermarktketten.

Nordlux

>   Nordlux ist eine etablierte und anerkannte Marke im Lichtdesign für Innen- und Außenleuchten. Unter den Markennamen »Design for the people«, »Nordlux«, »Lampekonsulenten« und »See Mee« entwirft und entwickelt das Unternehmen betriebsintern hochqualitative Produkte. Externe Partner übernehmen die Produktion. Nordlux hat Vertriebsgesellschaften in Norwegen, Schweden, Deutschland und China und ist heute in über 35 Ländern vertreten.
>   Nordlux, gegründet 1977, mit Hauptsitz in Aalborg (Dänemark) zählt zu den größten und profitabelsten Beleuchtungsunternehmen in Dänemark.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 3. November 2016 übernimmt OSRAM eine Minderheitsbeteiligung von 47,5 Prozent am niederländischen IoT-Software-Unternehmen TVILIGHT B.V.
>   Aquin wurde von Tvilight sowie dessen Anteilseignern, dem Gründer Chintan Shah und dem niederländischen Clean-Tech-Investmentfonds Ponooc B.V., mit der Leitung des M&A-Prozesses beauftragt.

Investitionslogik

>   Mit der Beteiligung an Tvilight trägt Osram der steigenden Nachfrage nach IoT-fähigen, energieeffizienten und intelligent vernetzten Lichtlösungen Rechnung.
>   Chintan Shah: »Wir vereinen über 100 Jahre Erfahrung und herausragende Erfolge in der Lichttechnik mit innovativer Software. Die Partnerschaft ermöglicht es Tvilight weiterhin, den steigenden Bedarf nach großflächigen Smart City-Projekten auf Basis unserer offenen, vielseitigen, multiservice-Softwareplattform zu bedienen. Wir freuen uns auf diese gemeinsame Reise mit großem Engagement
und Ehrgeiz.«
TVilight, ponooc / Osram

Tvilight

>   Das 2012 gegründete Unternehmen ist ein europäischer Marktführer in der professionellen End-to-End-Steuerung von Straßenbeleuchtung, spezialisiert auf Sensoren, drahtlose Lichtsteuerungen und vernetzte Lichtmanagement-software für Außenanwendungen.
>   Tvilight hat über 100 Projekte realisiert und tausende von intelligenten Devices in Städten weltweit installiert.
>   Das rasant wachsende Team von bis dato 35 Mitarbeitern arbeitet an vier Standorten in den Niederlanden und Indien.

Ponooc

>   Ponooc ist ein Investmentfonds der Pon Holdings. Als ein im Familienbesitz befindlicher, niederländischer Mischkonzern im Transportsektor erwirtschaftet Pon Umsätze in Milliardenhöhe und beschäftigt rund 13.000 Mitarbeiter.

Osram

>   Osram ist einer der weltweit führenden Lichthersteller. Das Portfolio reicht von High-Tech-Anwendungen auf der Basis halbleiterbasierter Technologie, wie Infrarot und Laser, bis hin zu vernetzten intelligenten Beleuchtungs-möglichkeiten in Städten.
>   Ende des Geschäftsjahres 2015 beschäftigte Osram weltweit rund 33.000 Mitarbeiter und erzielte einen Umsatz von knapp 5,6 Milliarden Euro.

 

PUBLIKATIONEN


Rauer Wind auf dem Lichtmarkt
10.2019 - Martin Kanatschnig, Dr. Kurt Gerl in: ElektroWirtschaft - Light-Special 10/2019
AQUIN Link  zur Publikation


Licht in der Krise?
03.2019 - Dr. Kurt Gerl, Martin Kanatschnig in: HIGHLIGHT 3-4 2019
AQUIN Link  zur Publikation


ANSPRECHPARTNER

Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Felix Kampen - Aquin
Felix Kampen
Principal
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Philipp Neumann - Aquin
Philipp Neumann
Associate
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Felix Kampen - Aquin
Felix Kampen
Principal
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Philipp Neumann - Aquin
Philipp Neumann
Associate
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita