AQ_arrow-left  back to industry overview
AQUIN Link  to Cranes and Hoists

MACHINERY & INDUSTRIAL GOODS

Mechanical engineering is the traditional pillar of the economy in the area of our Munich and Lindau offices whereby the phrase, “Made in Germany” is globally recognized as a symbol of quality. Whether classical plant engineering, industrial goods, process engineering or parts of specialized mechanical engineering, they are all essential for the production and manufacture of goods we use daily.

Selected Sub-sectors:
> Plant Construction, Tools & Parts
> Conveyors and Storage Technology
> Cranes and Hoists
> Specialty Materials

Solid companies with a stable business and at the same time innovative ideas are not only interesting for their competitors, but increasingly for financial investors as well. Industrial holdings and family offices are also playing an increasing role in the industry landscape. Medium-sized and family run businesses are particularly well represented in the mechanical engineering industry. They are down-to-earth, direct and aim to “hit the nail on the head", just like Aquin. Our entrepreneurial spirit, along with an extraordinary ability to build bridges to investors make us the optimal support in guiding you through the M&A process.

Through valuable experience and our Senior Advisors, Dr. Rainer Reichert and Wolfgang Schorre, we have built an extensive network, which includes plant and special machine construction, the crane and hoist industry and also materials handling. Aquin has also gained expertise in specialty materials and components, such as those for use in aerospace applications.

SENIOR ADVISOR

Wolfgang Schorre - Senior Advisor Aquin
Wolfgang Schorre
Crane & Hoisting Industry, Conveyor Technology
AQUIN Link  Vita
Dr. Rainer Reichert - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Rainer Reichert
Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
AQUIN Link  Vita
Wolfgang Schorre - Senior Advisor Aquin
Wolfgang Schorre
Crane & Hoisting Industry, Conveyor Technology
AQUIN Link  Vita
Dr. Rainer Reichert - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Rainer Reichert
Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
AQUIN Link  Vita

SELECTED REFERENCES

Key Terms

>   Taking effect as of September 12, 2018, Eurocrane has signed a binding share purchase agreement to acquire 100 percent of the shares of industrial cranes builder Voith-Werke Ing. A. Fritz Voith GmbH & Co. KG, Traun, Austria. After obtaining regulatory approvals by the relevant authorities, the transaction has been successfully closed on December 10, 2018.
>   Aquin acted as the exclusive M&A advisor for the sellers.

Strategic Logic

>   With the entry of Eurocrane the owners of Voith arrange for their succession.
>   Voith shall not only remain as a trademark, but function as a premium brand for the whole Eurocrane group. Common structures such as sales and service in new international markets shall be developed in joint activity. Furthermore, the companies can benefit from each other`s R&D activities.
>   »The company will continue to operate on its own to the greatest possible extent. The successful philosophy of the current management shall be combined with the additional business opportunities arising.«, substantiate Eurocrane owners Irene Jin and Tony Tao.
Logo_VOITH_Foto

Voith

>   Ing. Voith has been active in the construction of innovative industrial cranes for 70 years and has established itself as one of the most successful producers of special crane systems in Europe.
>   Voith cranes are entirely designed, developed, planned and produced by around 170 employees in the plant in Traun – from the mechanical as well as the electrical engineering side.

Eurocrane

>   Eurocrane was founded in 2002 by the entrepreneurial couple Irene Jin and Tony Tao.
>   Since then, the company has developed itself to be one of the most significant producers of high-quality cranes and lifting equipment in Asia, employing more than 800 people.
>   Being listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange now, enjoying a market capitalization of 250 million euros, a majority share of Eurocrane still remains in the hands of the founders.

Key Terms

>   With effect from September 28, 2018, HORIBA Automotive Test Systems acquired FuelCon AG, one of the leading global suppliers of test and diagnostic systems for fuel cells and batteries.
>   Aquin acted as the exclusive M&A advisor to the founders and managing partners of FuelCon, Dr. Ingo Benecke and Mathias Bode.

Strategic Logic

>   With the sale, FuelCon gains access to HORIBA`s strong global network and is able to meet the growing customer demand for increasingly complex test requirements for the E-Mobility sector.
>   Together with HORIBA, FuelCon will achieve its strategic goal to significantly grow internationally (especially in Asia and in the US) much faster. The intention is to develop FuelCon as the worldwide central competence center for fuel cell and battery testing within the Group
Logo_FUELCON_Foto

FuelCon

>   The company FuelCon AG, founded in 2001, is a leading manufacturer and supplier of end-of-line and turnkey test bench systems for the E-Mobility sector, with strong expertise in battery and fuel cell applications.
>   FuelCon has an enviable reputation for design and assembly of precision high performance solutions and is trusted for its deep technical know-how by global OEMs, including among others BMW and Volkswagen, tier 1s as well as international research laboratories.
>   FuelCon is headquartered in Magdeburg-Barleben (Germany) and achieves an annual turnover of 14 million euros in 2018.

HORIBA

>   HORIBA Automotive Test System (part of HORIBA Group) is a leading supplier in the fields of engine, driveline, brake and emissions test systems for all industries using electric motors, internal combustion engines and turbines. These include the automotive, heavy-duty, off-road, consumer goods, marine, aerospace and locomotive sectors.
>   HORIBA Group, listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange with annual revenues of 1.5 billion euros in 2017, is a global leading supplier of measurement technology and systems for various fields from automotive testing, process and environmental monitoring, in-vitro medical diagnostics, semiconductor manufacturing and metrology to scientific R&D and QC measurements.

Key Terms

>   Taking effect as of September 12, 2018, Eurocrane has signed a binding share purchase agreement to acquire 100 percent of the shares of industrial cranes builder Voith-Werke Ing. A. Fritz Voith GmbH & Co. KG, Traun, Austria. After obtaining regulatory approvals by the relevant authorities, the transaction has been successfully closed on December 10, 2018.
>   Aquin acted as the exclusive M&A advisor for the sellers.

Strategic Logic

>   With the entry of Eurocrane the owners of Voith arrange for their succession.
>   Voith shall not only remain as a trademark, but function as a premium brand for the whole Eurocrane group. Common structures such as sales and service in new international markets shall be developed in joint activity. Furthermore, the companies can benefit from each other`s R&D activities.
>   »The company will continue to operate on its own to the greatest possible extent. The successful philosophy of the current management shall be combined with the additional business opportunities arising.«, substantiate Eurocrane owners Irene Jin and Tony Tao.
Logo_VOITH_Foto

Voith

>   Ing. Voith has been active in the construction of innovative industrial cranes for 70 years and has established itself as one of the most successful producers of special crane systems in Europe.
>   Voith cranes are entirely designed, developed, planned and produced by around 170 employees in the plant in Traun – from the mechanical as well as the electrical engineering side.

Eurocrane

>   Eurocrane was founded in 2002 by the entrepreneurial couple Irene Jin and Tony Tao.
>   Since then, the company has developed itself to be one of the most significant producers of high-quality cranes and lifting equipment in Asia, employing more than 800 people.
>   Being listed on the Shanghai Stock Exchange now, enjoying a market capitalization of 250 million euros, a majority share of Eurocrane still remains in the hands of the founders.

Key Terms

>   With effect from September 28, 2018, HORIBA Automotive Test Systems acquired FuelCon AG, one of the leading global suppliers of test and diagnostic systems for fuel cells and batteries.
>   Aquin acted as the exclusive M&A advisor to the founders and managing partners of FuelCon, Dr. Ingo Benecke and Mathias Bode.

Strategic Logic

>   With the sale, FuelCon gains access to HORIBA`s strong global network and is able to meet the growing customer demand for increasingly complex test requirements for the E-Mobility sector.
>   Together with HORIBA, FuelCon will achieve its strategic goal to significantly grow internationally (especially in Asia and in the US) much faster. The intention is to develop FuelCon as the worldwide central competence center for fuel cell and battery testing within the Group
Logo_FUELCON_Foto

FuelCon

>   The company FuelCon AG, founded in 2001, is a leading manufacturer and supplier of end-of-line and turnkey test bench systems for the E-Mobility sector, with strong expertise in battery and fuel cell applications.
>   FuelCon has an enviable reputation for design and assembly of precision high performance solutions and is trusted for its deep technical know-how by global OEMs, including among others BMW and Volkswagen, tier 1s as well as international research laboratories.
>   FuelCon is headquartered in Magdeburg-Barleben (Germany) and achieves an annual turnover of 14 million euros in 2018.

HORIBA

>   HORIBA Automotive Test System (part of HORIBA Group) is a leading supplier in the fields of engine, driveline, brake and emissions test systems for all industries using electric motors, internal combustion engines and turbines. These include the automotive, heavy-duty, off-road, consumer goods, marine, aerospace and locomotive sectors.
>   HORIBA Group, listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange with annual revenues of 1.5 billion euros in 2017, is a global leading supplier of measurement technology and systems for various fields from automotive testing, process and environmental monitoring, in-vitro medical diagnostics, semiconductor manufacturing and metrology to scientific R&D and QC measurements.

CONTACT

Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
AQUIN - Dr. Jürgen Kuttruff
Jürgen Kuttruff
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Thomas Grauvogl - Aquin
Thomas Grauvogl
Principal
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Jürgen Kuttruff - Aquin
Jürgen Kuttruff
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita
Thomas Grauvogl - Aquin
Thomas Grauvogl
Principal
AQUIN Link  e-mail contact
AQUIN Link  Vita

AQ_arrow-left  zurück zur Branchenübersicht
AQUIN Link  zu Kran- und Hebezeuge

MASCHINENBAU & INDUSTRIEGÜTER

Der Maschinenbau ist die traditionelle Stütze der Wirtschaft in der Gegend unserer Büros in München und Lindau und gleichzeitig als „Made in Germany“ weltbekannt. Ob klassischer Anlagenbau, Industriegüter, Verfahrenstechnik oder Teile des Spezialmaschinenbaus, sie alle sind für die Produktion und Herstellung von Gütern des täglichen Gebrauchs unerlässlich.
Ausgewählte Teilbranchen:

> Anlagenbau und Werkzeuge
> Förder- und Lagertechnik
> Kran- und Hebezeuge
> Spezialwerkstoffe

Solide Unternehmen mit einem stabilen Geschäft und gleichzeitig innovativen Ideen sind nicht nur interessant für deren Mitbewerber, sondern auch zunehmend für Finanzinvestoren. Dabei spielen vermehrt auch Industrieholdings und Family Offices eine Rolle.

Mittelständler und Familienunternehmen sind in der Maschinenbauindustrie besonders stark vertreten. Sie sind bodenständig, direkt und wollen „Nägel mit Köpfen“ machen, genau wie Aquin. Da wir die Sprache des Unternehmers sprechen, gleichzeitig aber auch unter Beibehaltung höchster Professionalität die Brücke zu Investoren schlagen können, sind wir der optimale Unterstützer beim M&A-Prozess.

Durch unsere Erfahrung und unsere Senior Advisors Dr. Rainer Reichert und Wolfgang Schorre haben wir ein weit verzweigtes Netzwerk, insbesondere im Anlagen- und Spezialmaschinenbau, sowie in der Kran- und Hebezeugindustrie und auch der Fördertechnik. Darüber hinaus verfügt Aquin über Expertise bei Spezialwerkstoffen und -bauteilen, wie beispielsweise für die Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik.

SENIOR ADVISOR

Wolfgang Schorre - Senior Advisor Aquin
Wolfgang Schorre
Kran- und Hebezeuge, Fördertechnik
AQUIN Link  Vita
Dr. Rainer Reichert - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Rainer Reichert
Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
AQUIN Link  Vita
Wolfgang Schorre - Senior Advisor Aquin
Wolfgang Schorre
Kran- und Hebezeuge, Fördertechnik
AQUIN Link  Vita
Dr. Rainer Reichert - Senior Advisor Aquin
Dr. Rainer Reichert
Maschinen- und Anlagenbau
AQUIN Link  Vita

AUSGEWÄHLTE TRANSAKTIONEN

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 12. September 2018 trat ein bindender Kaufvertrag zur Übernahme von 100 Prozent der Anteile der Voith - Werke Ing. A. Fritz Voith GmbH & Co. KG in Traun(Österreich) durch Eurocrane in Kraft. Nach Zustimmung der Behörden hat das Closing der Transaktion am 10. Dezember 2018 erfolgreich stattgefunden.
>   Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater der Verkäufer.

Investitionslogik

>   Der Einstieg von Eurocrane stellt für die bisherigen Gesellschafter von Voith eine gelungene Nachfolgelösung dar.
>   Voith bleibt nicht nur als Marke erhalten, sondern soll das Premium-Segmentder Eurocrane-Gruppe weltweit ausfüllen. Außerdem sollen Vertriebs- und Servicestrukturen in neuen internationalen Märkten gemeinsam ausgebaut werden.
>   »Die Firma wird weiterhin so gut wie eigenständig am Markt agieren. Die erfolgreiche Philosophie der bisherigen Geschäftsführung soll beibehalten und mit den sich durch den Zusammenschluss ergebenden zusätzlichen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten kombiniert werden.«, so Eurocrane-Eigentümer Irene Jin und Tony Tao.
Voith / Eurocrane

Voith

>   Ing. Voith ist seit 70 Jahren im Bau von innovativen Industriekranen tätig. Das österreichische Unternehmen zählt zu den erfolgreichsten Herstellern von Sonderkrananlagen in Europa.
>   Voith-Kräne werden in Gänze von den ca. 170 Mitarbeitern im Werk in Traun entwickelt, konzipiert, geplant und gefertigt – sowohl auf der mechanischen als auch auf der elektrotechnischen Seite.

Eurocrane

>   Eurocrane wurde in 2002 von dem Unternehmerehepaar Irene Jin und Tony Tao gegründet.
>   Das Unternehmen hat sich seitdem zu einem der bedeutendsten Hersteller von qualitativ hochwertigen Kranen und Hebezeugen in China entwickelt und beschäftigt mehr als 800 Mitarbeiter.
>   Das Familienunternehmen notiert bei einer Marktkapitalisierung von 250 Millionen Euro zwar an der Börse Shanghai, befindet sich aber im mehrheitlichen Besitz der Unternehmensgründer.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 28. September 2018 erwirbt die HORIBA Automotive Test Systems die FuelCon AG, einen weltweit führenden Anbieter von Test- und Diagnosesystemen für Brennstoffzellen und Batterien.
>   Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater der Gründer und geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter von FuelCon, Dr. Ingo Benecke und Mathias Bode.

Investitionslogik

>   Mit dem Verkauf erhält FuelCon Zugang zu HORIBA's starkem globalen Netzwerk und ist in der Lage, die wachsende Kundennachfrage nach immer komplexeren Testanforderungen für den Bereich E-Mobilität zu erfüllen.
>   Zusammen mit HORIBA wird FuelCon sein strategisches Ziel, international(insbesondere in Asien und in den USA) zu expandieren, deutlich schneller erreichen. HORIBA beabsichtigt, FuelCon zum weltweit zentralen Kompetenz-zentrum für Brennstoffzellen- und Batterietests innerhalb des Konzerns auszubauen.
Fuelcon / Horiba

FuelCon

>   Die 2001 gegründete FuelCon AG ist ein führender Hersteller und Anbieter von End-ofLine und schlüsselfertigen Prüfstandssystemen für den Bereich E-Mobilität, mit hoher Kompetenz für Batterie- und Brennstoffzellenanwendungen.
>   FuelCon hat einen hervorragenden Ruf im Bereich Entwicklung und Zusammenbau von Präzisions-Hochleistungslösungen und genießt aufgrund seines fundierten technischen Know-hows das Vertrauen globaler OEMs, darunter u.a. BMW und Volkswagen, von Tier 1 Zulieferern sowie internationaler Forschungslabors.
>   Das Unternehmen hat seinen Hauptsitz in Magdeburg-Barleben (Deutschland) und erwirtschaftet 2018 einen Jahresumsatz von 14 Millionen Euro.

HORIBA

>   HORIBA Automotive Test System (Teil der HORIBA Gruppe) ist ein führender Anbieter in den Bereichen Motor-, Antriebsstrang-, Bremsen- und Emissions-prüfsysteme für alle Branchen, in denen Elektromotoren, Verbrennungsmotoren und Turbinen eingesetzt werden. Dazu gehören die Automobil-, Schwerlast-, Off-Road-, Konsumgüter-, Schiffs-, Luftfahrt- und Lokomotivindustrie.
>   Der an der Tokioter Börse notierte HORIBA-Konzern mit einem Jahresumsatz von 1,5 Milliarden Euro im Jahr 2017 ist ein weltweit führender Anbieter von Messtechnik und - systemen für verschiedene Bereiche, von Fahrzeugtests, Prozess- und Umweltüberwachung, medizinischer In-vitro-Diagnostik, Halbleiterherstellung bis hin zu wissenschaftlicher F&E und QC-Messungen.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 12. September 2018 trat ein bindender Kaufvertrag zur Übernahme von 100 Prozent der Anteile der Voith – Werke Ing. A. Fritz Voith GmbH & Co. KG in Traun(Österreich) durch Eurocrane in Kraft. Nach Zustimmung der Behörden hat das Closing der Transaktion am 10. Dezember 2018 erfolgreich stattgefunden.
>   Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater der Verkäufer.

Investitionslogik

>   Der Einstieg von Eurocrane stellt für die bisherigen Gesellschafter von Voith eine gelungene Nachfolgelösung dar.
>   Voith bleibt nicht nur als Marke erhalten, sondern soll das Premium-Segmentder Eurocrane-Gruppe weltweit ausfüllen. Außerdem sollen Vertriebs- und Servicestrukturen in neuen internationalen Märkten gemeinsam ausgebaut werden.
>   »Die Firma wird weiterhin so gut wie eigenständig am Markt agieren. Die erfolgreiche Philosophie der bisherigen Geschäftsführung soll beibehalten und mit den sich durch den Zusammenschluss ergebenden zusätzlichen Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten kombiniert werden.«, so Eurocrane-Eigentümer Irene Jin und Tony Tao.
Voith / Eurocrane

Voith

>   Ing. Voith ist seit 70 Jahren im Bau von innovativen Industriekranen tätig. Das österreichische Unternehmen zählt zu den erfolgreichsten Herstellern von Sonderkrananlagen in Europa.
>   Voith-Kräne werden in Gänze von den ca. 170 Mitarbeitern im Werk in Traun entwickelt, konzipiert, geplant und gefertigt – sowohl auf der mechanischen als auch auf der elektrotechnischen Seite.

Eurocrane

>   Eurocrane wurde in 2002 von dem Unternehmerehepaar Irene Jin und Tony Tao gegründet.
>   Das Unternehmen hat sich seitdem zu einem der bedeutendsten Hersteller von qualitativ hochwertigen Kranen und Hebezeugen in China entwickelt und beschäftigt mehr als 800 Mitarbeiter.
>   Das Familienunternehmen notiert bei einer Marktkapitalisierung von 250 Millionen Euro zwar an der Börse Shanghai, befindet sich aber im mehrheitlichen Besitz der Unternehmensgründer.

Deal Eckpunkte

>   Mit Wirkung zum 28. September 2018 erwirbt die HORIBA Automotive Test Systems die FuelCon AG, einen weltweit führenden Anbieter von Test- und Diagnosesystemen für Brennstoffzellen und Batterien.
>   Aquin agierte als exklusiver M&A-Berater der Gründer und geschäftsführenden Gesellschafter von FuelCon, Dr. Ingo Benecke und Mathias Bode.

Investitionslogik

>   Mit dem Verkauf erhält FuelCon Zugang zu HORIBA’s starkem globalen Netzwerk und ist in der Lage, die wachsende Kundennachfrage nach immer komplexeren Testanforderungen für den Bereich E-Mobilität zu erfüllen.
>   Zusammen mit HORIBA wird FuelCon sein strategisches Ziel, international(insbesondere in Asien und in den USA) zu expandieren, deutlich schneller erreichen. HORIBA beabsichtigt, FuelCon zum weltweit zentralen Kompetenz-zentrum für Brennstoffzellen- und Batterietests innerhalb des Konzerns auszubauen.
FuelCon / Horiba

FuelCon

>   Die 2001 gegründete FuelCon AG ist ein führender Hersteller und Anbieter von End-ofLine und schlüsselfertigen Prüfstandssystemen für den Bereich E-Mobilität, mit hoher Kompetenz für Batterie- und Brennstoffzellenanwendungen.
>   FuelCon hat einen hervorragenden Ruf im Bereich Entwicklung und Zusammenbau von Präzisions-Hochleistungslösungen und genießt aufgrund seines fundierten technischen Know-hows das Vertrauen globaler OEMs, darunter u.a. BMW und Volkswagen, von Tier 1 Zulieferern sowie internationaler Forschungslabors.
>   Das Unternehmen hat seinen Hauptsitz in Magdeburg-Barleben (Deutschland) und erwirtschaftet 2018 einen Jahresumsatz von 14 Millionen Euro.

HORIBA

>   HORIBA Automotive Test System (Teil der HORIBA Gruppe) ist ein führender Anbieter in den Bereichen Motor-, Antriebsstrang-, Bremsen- und Emissions-prüfsysteme für alle Branchen, in denen Elektromotoren, Verbrennungsmotoren und Turbinen eingesetzt werden. Dazu gehören die Automobil-, Schwerlast-, Off-Road-, Konsumgüter-, Schiffs-, Luftfahrt- und Lokomotivindustrie.
>   Der an der Tokioter Börse notierte HORIBA-Konzern mit einem Jahresumsatz von 1,5 Milliarden Euro im Jahr 2017 ist ein weltweit führender Anbieter von Messtechnik und – systemen für verschiedene Bereiche, von Fahrzeugtests, Prozess- und Umweltüberwachung, medizinischer In-vitro-Diagnostik, Halbleiterherstellung bis hin zu wissenschaftlicher F&E und QC-Messungen.

ANSPRECHPARTNER

Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
AQUIN - Dr. Jürgen Kuttruff
Jürgen Kuttruff
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Thomas Grauvogl - Aquin
Thomas Grauvogl
Principal
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Martin Kanatschnig - Aquin
Martin Kanatschnig
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Jürgen Kuttruff - Aquin
Jürgen Kuttruff
Vorstand
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita
Thomas Grauvogl - Aquin
Thomas Grauvogl
Principal
AQUIN Link  E-Mail Kontakt
AQUIN Link  Vita