AQUIN TALK

Bewerbungsprozess und Start bei Aquin

»The 100-hour Workweek«

by Martin Kanatschnig

Early summer 2008. My first business trip to New York. Business Class. Okay, it was an upgrade, but still. I had just made myself comfortable when my seat neighbor, a partner from one of the Big Four, started talking to me. He was flying over for a quick »Rooftop Cappuccino« and would be flying back in the morning. He almost seemed to brag about his 100-hour workweek and how he always liked to treat himself to these awesome quick hitting trips. How someone could be so proud of working 100 hours a week and boast about such a fact within a 45 second conversation, left me speechless. Crazy!

Over the course of 15 years as an M&A consultant, there have been several situations where I had to just shake my head at my own industry. Whether it be the »win at all costs« mentality, the life-time consuming face-time culture or the countless empty phrases which are thrown around without reflection. I almost didn’t know if I belonged here anymore. However, my fascination of M&A, with its never boring mixture of psychology, strategy and mathematics did not let go of me. Thanks to several fortunate circumstances, I was allowed the opportunity to co-found Aquin and am proud to be surrounded by not only good but down to earth people.

Aquin is not a sterile investment bank. We are a M&A manufactory. With the intricate work ethic of an instrument maker servicing customers from around the world. We act with experience, soul and are unconditionally committed to quality.

By the way: 50 hours per week. Even in the founding years, this was always my personal limit. I admire entrepreneurs who manage to make themselves dispensable. Now that is something to shoot for!

AQ_arrow-left  back to career
AQUIN Link  next Aquin Talk

AQUIN TALK

Bewerbungsprozess und Start bei Aquin

»100 Stunden die Woche«

von Martin Kanatschnig

Frühsommer 2008. Meine erste Geschäftsreise nach New York. Business Class. Na gut, es war ein Upgrade. Ich hatte es mir gerade gemütlich gemacht, da spricht mich mein Sitznachbar an. Partner bei einer der Big Four. Er fliege für einen »Rooftop-Cappucino« rüber, morgen ginge es wieder zurück. Für mehr sei keine Zeit, er arbeite ja »100 Stunden die Woche«, aber er gönne sich immer wieder so »geile Kurztrips«. Nach 45 Sekunden Gespräch wusste ich also Bescheid. Wie man auf 100 Wochenarbeitsstunden so stolz sein und dies einem völlig Fremden nach 3 Sätzen auf die Nase binden konnte, machte mich sprachlos. Verrückt!

Es gab in den nun über 15 Jahren als M&A-Berater immer wieder Situationen, wo ich über meine eigene Branche den Kopf schütteln musste. Ellenbogenmentalität, die Lebenszeit vernichtende Face-Time-Kultur oder die endlosen Weiten leerer Phrasen, die unreflektiert gedroschen werden. Beinahe packte mich die Gewissheit, hier völlig falsch zu sein. Aber die Faszination M&A, mit ihrer niemals langweilig werdenden Mischung aus Psychologie, Strategie und Mathematik, ließ mich nicht los. Mehreren glücklichen Umständen verdanke ich, dass ich Aquin mitgründen durfte und heute von Menschen umgeben bin, die nicht nur richtig gut sondern auch völlig normal sind.

Aquin ist keine sterile Investmentbank. Wir sind eine M&A-Manufaktur. Mit dem inhaltlichen Anspruch eines Instrumentenbauers, zu dem Kunden aus aller Welt kommen. Erfahren, mit Seele und bedingungslos der Qualität verpflichtet.

Übrigens: 50 Stunden die Woche. Selbst in den Gründungsjahren war dies meine persönliche Grenze. Bewundernswert sind für mich UnternehmerInnen, die es schaffen, sich selbst entbehrlich zu machen.
Das ist doch ein Ansporn!

AQ_arrow-left  zurück zu Karriere
AQUIN Link  Nächster Aquin Talk